Tutorial: Cupcake Nails

13Mar12

I’ve wanted to try these Cupcake Nails for a long time now, and since EBF’s theme this week is “Birthdays!”, I thought what better time than today! These little nails are festive treats for your fingers that attract beaucoup attention… you will have strangers grabbing your hand all day to check them out!

They aren’t quite practical enough for a corporate job, but they scream PARTY and were fun to try out! Hope you enjoy!

Step 1: Gather your polishes. For this look, I used a corn silk blue as my base, and white for the cupcake frosting. Then I used red for the cherry, and pink, blue, and orange for the sprinkles!

Step 2: Start with the base coat. Apply two thick coats of any pastel color and let dry.

Step 3: Start whipping up that frosting! With the white nail polish, I did three upside down U’s towards the bottom half of my nail to start.

Step 4: Color in your frosting with white nail polish.

Step 5: Draw three thin lines down the top of your nail to complete the cupcake wrapper.

Step 6: Cherry on top – add a medium-sized dot to the tip of each finger using the red polish.

Step 7: Top off your cupcakes with sprinkles! Add a variety of different sized polka dots on the white frosting using any colors you love!

Step 8: I topped my white frosting with a thin layer of glitter polish for some extra sparkle!

Step 9: Finish off with a top coat to hold everything in place! You’re done!

Step 10: Try not to nibble at your fingers all day! It’ll be hard! 🙂

P.S. Take a look at my super pretty ombre glitter birthday nails!

– Cher



3 Responses to “Tutorial: Cupcake Nails”

  1. Ahhh this is so cute I’m retweeting! 🙂

  2. 2 krista

    Absolutely adorable! You girls are wonderful!

  3. 3 Lorraine

    All I can say is OMG!!! Wow, are they adorable!


Leave a comment