Pleat-y Pleat-y Please!?!

13Sep11

There’s something about a maxi length skirt that gives women instant polish. I lived in maxi dresses this summer for a multitude of reasons. For starters, they are super easy to wear. They were also a great way to keep cool, while at the same time, avoiding a Marilyn Monroe moment while walking the windy streets of Boston (However, there was this one time on Beacon Street that I’m positive I gave a few construction workers a show … whoops!).

However, fall’s just around the corner – despite the 85 degree temps in Boston yesterday – which means I have to put away my summery maxi dresses and find something similar, and equally as divine, to fill the void. Enter the pleated maxi skirt – a whimsical, floor-length, accordion style skirt in a plethora of rich fall colors and gauzy or silk fabrics. There’s something about pleated maxi skirts that make me want to giddily twirl in a field, but I’ll refrain from doing that, and instead show you some of my favorite pleated maxi skirts for the season:

Sparkle & Fade Maxi Pleated Chiffon Skirt, $59


Mcginn ‘Emma’ Pleated Maxi Skirt
, $245

ELLE Floral Accordian-Pleat Maxi Skirt, $64

Cremieux Pleated Maxi Skirt, $109

Just in case you’re wondering, here’s what I wear with pleated maxi skirts:

    Cropped chunky sweaters
    Tucked in silk tie-neck blouses
    Linen military button downs
    Men’s style watches and shoes
    A cami, boyfriend cardigan, and a thin belt
    Stacked heels and opaque tights

Are any of you into maxi skirts? Tell me how you wear them below!

– Cher

2 Responses to “Pleat-y Pleat-y Please!?!”

  1. 1 Tara

    I think I need teal one! Like now 🙂


Leave a Reply

