My Closet: Three Things

21Sep11

One of my goals for this fall is to downsize my wardrobe, while at the same time, upgrade my clothes. I know that may sound a bit contradictory, but the purpose of this exercise is to filter out all the impulse buys, trendy items, and cheap pieces that managed to clutter up my closet over the years and restock them with clothes that are built well, will stay in style through the years, and that showcase my personality.

At first, this was a pretty daunting task. Going through each item in my closet and determining the last time I wore it and how much I actually think the item can withstand time is not a quick or easy thing to do. One of the reasons this is less overwhelming for me is due to the fact that I am doing this slowly – for every piece of clothing I buy, I donate or consign another piece (or two pieces, depending on how altruistic I feel that day). This is obviously an ongoing process, but my hopes are that in the next few months, I will have a wardrobe (and possibly no money for Christmas gifts!!) that will make me excited to get dressed every morning!

Here are a few things that I’ve started to add into my closet:

    Nude, blush, and ivory

    Patterned and detailed blouses

    Fall florals

And a few of my favorite details from all three categories:

LOFT blouse

H&M blouse with lace shoulders

One of my fave Marshall's finds

H&M polka dot cropped blouse

My favorite Portland find... a layered, belted vest

– Cher

2 Responses to “My Closet: Three Things”

  1. Beautiful finds – I like the belted vest the most!

    x. jill
    those ghosts

  2. Gorgeous. I love how feminine this all is.

    ❤ Rachel
    http://www.dressupsandmessups.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

