Jacket Alternative: The Poncho

10Nov11

And I ain’t talkin’ about the ones you wear in the rain.

Ponchos and capes have been around for awhile in regards to style. I’ve always been kind of resistant to them though, because I thought their lack of shape would be unflattering and bulky. However, I bought the most beautiful Banana Republic knit poncho over the weekend and I couldn’t be happier with it: it’s gray, buttons up the cowl neck, and is insanely warm. I’m so glad I tried it on!

How do you wear ponchos without looking frumpy? Well, I wore mine with an American Apparel black long sleeve tee-shirt, dark skinny jeans, over-the-knee black flat boots, and leopard driving gloves. Adorable, adorable, adorable! It’s definitely one of my new favorite outfits for running around Boston on a cool fall day.

Here are some of my favorite ponchos for this fall (some are even on sale!):

1. MICHAEL Michael Kors Cowl Neck Poncho Sweater, Nordstrom $110

2. McDuff Sweater Knit Poncho, Nordstrom – Was $258, now $128.50

3. Soft Joie “Olgo” French Terry Poncho Hoodie, Bloomingdale’s Was $168, now $126

4. Ella Moss Shawl Collar Fringe Poncho, Bloomingdale’s Was $268, now $187.60

How do you wear your knit poncho?

– Cher

2 Responses to “Jacket Alternative: The Poncho”

  1. 1 Tara

    I want to see this outfit tomorrow!


Leave a Reply

