Product Review: Urban Decay 24-7 Shadow Stick

23Nov11

While finishing up some Christmas shopping this past weekend at Sephora, I decided to treat myself to a little something new (plus I had a 20% coupon so of course I had to make up for what ever amount I would have saved). Shadow sticks are far from something new, both in beauty stores and in my make up bag, but it’s been some time since I have lusted over a shadow stick like I currently am for Urban Decay’s 24-7 Shadow Stick.

I bought “Barracuda” (does anyone else hear “Heart” playing in their head?), but I would like to have it in soo many other shades; Narc, Sin and Lit to name a few.

So here’s the skinny on this fat, shadow stick…

Wearability/Application: Loading on piles of shadow on a daily basis gets tired, both for me and for my look, so these sticks lend a great alternative. You can line both your top and bottom lids for a cat eye look or use a single line with your shadow to add more drama. These are also great for those of you out there who like a softer look or don’t like to use liquid liner. You can smoke/wing out this pencil just the same, then use Qtips for clean up. 5 out of 5 stars

Staying Power: This is wear UD shines. I vouch for all their eye products because the pigment is rich, colors are great and by 8pm my eyes look just as good as they did at 8am. The shadow stick is no exception. 5 out of 5 stars here too!

Pricing: A single shadow stick costs $20. This could be slightly expensive for some people but if you get a color that you will really use and enjoy, I think it’s worth the investment. While I love the bright violet color, I would never purchase it because I wouldn’t wear it enough to justify the money spent. But neutrals like Barracuda, Sin and Lit are very everyday shades. 4 out of 5 stars.

Overall: This product (like every other UD product I have tried), is amazing. UD never lets me down.

What shadow stick do you use? Can you offer up a more cost effective option? Please share!!
-Lauren

One Response to “Product Review: Urban Decay 24-7 Shadow Stick”

  1. I’ve always been curious about shadow sticks. Years ago I tried a Cover Girl CG Smoother shadow stick to sticky, smudgy, smeary results. I’ve been skeptical of their staying power since. I looove UD 24/7 eyeliners, so I’ll have to give the shadow stick a try. Thanks for the helpful review! 🙂


Leave a Reply

