Favorite Frosty Fabrics

28Nov11

Although it isn’t technically winter by a meterologist’s timeline, I’m gearing up winter’s full blown arrival. I love everything about going to my closet on a cold winter morning and picking out an outfit to keep me warm (and fashionable) throughout my day. Plucking pieces to put together a perfectly polished look is made fun due to layering rich, bold colors with nubby textures. I love the eye-catching depth and layers of intricacies a winter wardrobe creates.

Here is my guide to winter fabrics; what they are, my fave pieces and what to pair them with to create that snuggly, sophisticated look.

1. Bouclé: yarn with loops producing a rough, nubby appearance on woven or knitted fabrics

I’ve been a fan of bouclé since I got my first Victoria’s Secret catalog when I was 15 (ish). This fabric is so soft and cozy but won’t shed all over you (and your cords) like angora will. Pair this soft sweater with a pair of wide leg trouser pants and some high heel boots for a prim professional look.

2. Corduroy: a cotton-filling pile fabric with lengthwise cords or ridges

Get that hippie, over sized cord look out of your head! Cords have been modernized and made wearable to everyone (in a stylish, non-stoner way). I love these cords- I have them in hot pink and navy. They add depth to any outfit and provide extra warmth for your gams on those frosty days! I like to wear my cords while running errands on the weekend with a soft tee, boyfriend cardigan and flat riding boots.

3. Herringbone: a pattern consisting of adjoining vertical rows of slanting lines, any two contiguous lines forming either a V or an inverted V

Classic herringbone is presented in a white and black variation, usually in a great wide leg trouser pant. But Gap switched things up and made this sophisticated, winter favorite fabric a little more modern in this jacket. Today I paired this jacket with a cream, silk tee shirt style blouse with dark skinnies and chocolate brown fringe boots.

4. Tweed: a coarse wool cloth in a variety of weaves and colors, either hand-spun and handwoven

Tweed is my all time favorite winter fabric to wear. Warm, rich and versatile tweed puts the polish on any outfit. In a jacket, a handbag, boots or headband, get ready to feel like queen of all things cold! I bought a blazer similar to this last year at Express, but slightly more metallic with chain accents. This Gap blazer is a close runner up though. Pair with a burgundy or fire engine red top, a winter white pencil skirt and classic nude pumps for a Holiday party look that cannot fail.

What is your favorite fabric to sport in the winter?
-Lauren

3 Responses to “Favorite Frosty Fabrics”

  1. Cashmere blend wool is my all time fave for winter.
    Along with anything cashmere, the softness the look the feel reminds me of the smell of cinnamon the warmth inside after shoveling. The holiday parties family friends warm food.

    When I see cashmere and hear Jingle Bells on the radio. I’m full of warm thoughts of winter.
    (just wish it wasn’t so long) lol

    • I agree D, cashmere is a must have for the winter. And I’m with ya on the length of the season. I love the cold, just not 3 or 4 months of it!
      -Lauren


  1. 1 That’s a Wrap! « eyeblinkfashion

Leave a Reply

