Product Review: Chanel Inimitable Intense Mascara

06Dec11

I’ve been on a Chanel makeup kick lately, for good reason. I converted to Chanel Perfection Lumiere foundation after I fell in love with its matte finish. I can’t seem to go anywhere without my Chanel Chance Eau Tendre because it is one of the most delicious smelling scents I ever wore. Ah, Chanel… I can’t wait until the day I can afford a $3000 Chanel lambskin bag. But I digress.

Sometimes a mascara is just a mascara. I used to swear by DiorShow mascara, but then I always ended up back at CVS with $8.00 Revlon mascara in my basket. I must say though, the Chanel Inimitable Intense Mascara ($30, available in four colors) is pretty amazing. This is an upgrade to the original Chanel Inimitable mascara because of its unique new brush, making the end lash results dramatic, full, and intense.

Ratings (1-5 stars: 1 being the lowest, 5 being the highest)

Lash Separation/Tarantula Effect: 4 stars. This new brush was great at separating lashes and coating mascara on each lash – even the small, corner lashes- perfectly. I’m taking off one star though, because once you start layering this mascara over two times (don’t judge me), lashes start to clump juuusssttt a tad.

Drama: 5 stars! This mascara is dramatic and intense, and makes my lashes thick and inches long. I love the end result!

Curl Factor: 3 stars. On the Chanel website, the product description says that this mascara “curls” lashes but it certainly didn’t curl my lashes more than any of my cheapie mascaras. Of course, with an eyelash curler, my lashes curled upwards as they were supposed to!

Staying Power: 5 stars. This mascara looks great at the end of the day and even at the end of a long night.

Price: 2 stars. I’m not really into spending over $20 for mascara unless it also turns into a little makeup artist that applies fake lashes for me too. $30 for Chanel Inimitable Intense mascara is definitely pushing it… although I definitely do like it enough to buy it again.

Overall: 3.5 stars. I’m taking off a star for price (don’t I always do that with Chanel products?) and a half a star for clumped lashes due to over application on my part! However, two coats of this stuff on my lashes makes for a dramatic and perfect end lash result. All in all, I love it but it’s not perfect. My hunt for a cheaper, dramatic mascara is still on!

What’s your favorite mascara? Any suggestions for me?

– Cher

One Response to “Product Review: Chanel Inimitable Intense Mascara”

  1. 1 Lorraine

    Hey missy, what’s wrong with my $5 Great Lash by Maybelline????? xo


Leave a Reply

