Product Review: NAKED2 by Urban Decay

12Dec11

Urban Decay exposed a huge NAKED secret on December 1st when they revealed the debut of the NAKED2 palette, the sequel to the AMAZING NAKED palette. Being so impressed with the inital NAKED, and with a limited quantity upon it’s debut, I had to get my hands on one of the 5,000 available.

When my palette came in, 4 short days after ordering, I was love struck! This palette is just as beautiful as NAKED and the colors are on a whole new level. NAKED has a lot of variations of brown whereas NAKED2 contains plums, greys, and reddish tones. I could never pick which one I prefer, I think they’re both a must in your make up bag!

NAKED(bottom) vs. NAKED2(top)

The Review: (1 to 5 stars, 1 being the lowest, 5 being the highest)

Colors: There is only one dupe between the NAKED and NAKED2 palettes and that’s the color Half Baked. I think a girl could never have enough gold shadow though so this isn’t a deal breaker. All the other tones are unique to the NAKED palette. I’m digging the plumy, red tones– def a new look for me. The only downside here is that most of the colors are iridescent. Sometimes I love a great matte look on the eyes, for that I am taking off a star. 4 stars

Staying Power: Time and time again, I vouch for UD because their products stay bright and fresh all day long. The quality of your look is never compromised with Urban Decay products. 5 stars

Wearability: The possibilities with NAKED2 are far from limited. Looks can range from simple and chic to dramatic and daring, it’s all in your color selection and application! 5 stars

Price: For $50 (plus tax) you get the NAKED2 palette- consisting of 12 great colors, a mini NAKED lip gloss (LOVE IT!) and a mini 24-7 eye pencil in El Dorado (love, love, love gold liner on the bottom of your eye!). And while $50 seems outrageous for eye shadow, consider a few things- the colors are every-day-wearable, you’re getting 12 shades, combos are limitless, a little goes a long way, and you don’t need to reapply throughout the day. Those are some pretty convincing reasons to splurge on this palette. 5 stars

Check out my fave NAKED2 tutorial I’ve discovered thus far… a Chanel inspired Holiday look!
(Courtesy of roseannetangrs.com & YouTube)

NAKED vs NAKED2, which do you prefer?
-Lauren

One Response to “Product Review: NAKED2 by Urban Decay”


  1. 1 Winter Garden Party « eyeblinkfashion

Leave a Reply

