Textured Nails

22Dec11

My love for nails is continually growing. I’ve been doing some great manicures and nail art lately (stay tuned for some cool tutorials in the next few weeks!) but as you know, I’m always on the hunt for something cool and exciting. Enter: textured nails.

I first fell in love with textured nails last year during Lady Gaga’s “Bad Romance” video. She had some awesome metallic mesh screens goin’ on and I just couldn’t wait to try it with something a bit more… practical. Here are her nails from that video:

Now, those mesh nails certainly aren’t for everyday use (they’d get caught on EVERYTHING!). But I love the idea of wearing real textured materials, such as lace, feathers, and studs, for a cool manicure. Here are some more practical textured nail looks that are bound to get you tons of attention:

Studded Nails

Manicure by Dana D'Andraia at CND, Model Rel Dade at Marilyn - Photographed by Dan McMahon

Lace Nails

Peacock Nails

Coarse Black Glitter Nails (I want to MARRY these!)

Have you guys ever tried textured nails? Let me know if you want tutorials on any of these looks!

– Cher

3 Responses to “Textured Nails”

  1. I love how nail art keeps pushing the envelope! I’ve never tried textured nails, unless you count those few times where my accidental screw-ups and smears led me to “deliberately” mess up the rest of my manicure and go for the “craggy” look, haha. All these looks are really cool but the hard chunky glitter is my favorite – it reminds me of sugar crystals which you use to garnish a cookie!

    I also wanted to let you know that I nominated you guys for Versatile Blog of the Year in my latest post, if you want to check it out — please keep up the great work, your blog is so awesome! Happy holidays to both of you! 🙂

  2. 2 aileen bell

    Love love the last black glitter!! Please do a tutorial:)

  3. If I wasn’t such an innate klutz, I would try fancy manicures more often. The best I can do, is a plain single coat layer and glitter on the tips. Kind of a fancy French manicure. These are special, but I think I would hurt myself in the making thereof : )

    http://www.cakesandshakes.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

