Birds of a Feather…

11Jan12

Flock together. And if you love and adore feathers as much as I do, today’s post is for you!

My Native American ancestors got it right by adorning themselves in feathers, regardless of the reasons behind it. Who would have thought many years later feathers would be integrated into the every day stylings of fashionistas and designers everywhere?

Chris March’s design for swimsuit model Chrissy Teigen for the Met Ball
(I die, die, die for that feather collar!!! And all those Swarovski beads!)

And since we don’t all have the luxury of having Chris March design a custom feathered delight for us, here are some of my lower key, favorite feathered accessories.

Long Feather Duster Earring, $29

ASOS Nude Feather Clutch, $45.45

Jane Tran Hanging Feather Headband Side, $80

Ostrich Feather Collar, prices vary

Kendra Scott ‘Ignacia’ Feather & Stone Statement Necklace, $129.90

Feathered Wool Fedora, $17.80

Pocahontas – double 2 finger chain rings, $24

How do you wear feathers?
-Lauren

Dying for more Native American inspired fashion? Check out Cher’s post on Navajo inspired pieces.

6 Responses to “Birds of a Feather…”

  1. Ahhh nothing is better than feathers! The Chris March dress is a real stunner, but I think for most of us, a touch of feather is probably more manageable and realistic than going all out. Still, one can dream, right? πŸ™‚ Aside from ostriched-out skirts and dresses (yesterday I posted a Matthew Williamson feather skirt that I’m currently drooling over), my fave use of feathers is definitely in the clutches. It’s so feminine and unique!

    • That skirt is amazing! I wouldn’t mind stomping some serious pavement in that baby. I wish I had more extravagant events in my life calling for skirts like that and outrageous feathered collars. ❀ Lauren

  2. Feathers freak me out a bit: but I do really like feather earrings, I just haven’t found a pair I couldn’t live without yet πŸ™‚

    http://www.cakesandshakes.wordpress.com

  3. i have that ASOS feather clutch and i just love it! it’s a great way to dress up a LBD πŸ™‚

  4. I adore that clutch. The colors and texture are so different. I am guessing feathers are the new trend lately. I saw feathers on an Ann Taylor factory skirt. Still too expensive at 60 bucks, so I passed.

    I am interested in the ostrich color piece. What a statement piece that would be. I am pretty sure I would get a lot of stares. Not a bfd if I lived in LA though.

  5. Always love me a wide brim hat!

    Check out our blog and do some shopping!!
    xx Julie xx
    http://www.celebrityowned.com


Leave a Reply

