Fond of Being Blonde

19Jan12

For approximately 8 months out of the year, I am a blonde. I typically dye my hair very dark and then gradually go very light, and I continue this cycle year after year after year. I know, I know…probably not the best thing for my hair.

But lately, I’ve been letting my blonde hair shine through more often for good reason. Since I strongly believe I was born to be blonde (even though my genetics tell me differently), I feel like my true self when I have blonde hair. I won’t be cliche and say “blondes have more fun” because that certainly isn’t the truth: I have lots of fun regardless of my hair color! But what I will say is that I look and feel my best when my hair is blonde and healthy.

The only negative to being a “faux blonde” is the maintenance that goes along with it, including frequent dying and the use of many hair products ($$$) to keep it strong, healthy, and breakage-free.

Here are the products I use to make my blonde hair radiant:

One ‘n Only Shiny Silver Ultra Conditioning Shampoo, Sally Beauty Supply $7.29

I keep this shampoo on hand for brassy emergencies, and it ALWAYS helps.

Salon Grafix Spray Powder Shampoo, Ulta $7.99

Blonde hair definitely looks greasier faster in the root area, so this dry shampoo for blonde hair is perfect for no-wash days.

Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Blonde Shampoo + Conditioner, Sephora $36

Yes, the price for this shampoo/conditioner is very high. But they are totally worth it! This is everyday shampoo/conditioner, and it makes my hair feel brilliant and silky. The UV protection, caviar extract, and Vitamin C help keep my hair looking strong and healthy, and protect it from further damage.

It’s a 10 Miracle Leave-in Spray, Amazon.com $15.08

This is my all time favorite hair product. As the bottle states, “It’s A 10 does 10 things instantly: 1. Repairs dry damaged hair. 2. Adds shine. 3. Smoothes and controls frizz. 4. Seas and protects hair color. 5. Detangles. 6. Prevents split ends. 7. Stops hair breakage. 8. Creates silkiness. 9. Enhances natural body. 10. Flat iron spray and thermal protector.” I’m in.

What are your go-to hair products for your blonde, brunette, red, or black hair?

– Cher

2 Responses to “Fond of Being Blonde”

  1. 1 Renata

    I love Schwarzkopf osis elastic hair spray! Good hold and doesn’t make hair crunchy!

  2. Awww I miss the days of being a blonde! (and I used to love the shiny silver stuff during my lighter days) Although I’m a dirty blonde naturally, I only feel like myself as a redhead, the more obnoxiously hued, the better! Maintaining dyed red hair is a full time job, and thank goodness for color-depositing shampoos (I recommend the L’Oreal Artec line, as well as the Ted Gibson color line). My hair’s health is always questionable due to its passionate love affair with my flatiron, so I swear by Moroccan Oil serum. It smells amazing, makes hair soft, shiny, strong(er), and faster-drying. I use the hair mask once a week, too. Now I am totally going to try It’s a 10 – sounds like quite the wonder product! 🙂


Leave a Reply

