Suit Yourself

30Jan12

As the bone chilling New England winter sets in, I find myself spending my free time at the office drooling over lavishly exotic vacations on Jetsetter.com. And while I have some glorious trips planned this year (Cape Cod in July and Thanksgiving in Aruba), I can’t help but wish the next handful of months away so I can slip into my suit, soak up some much needed sun and catch up on my reading list.

Which brings me to bathing suits. Most women cringe at the mere mention of the word. Thankfully, I was never one of those girls. But over the last few years I have become more modest in my swimwear choices. From a plethora of mix and matchable, barely there, bikinis from Victoria’s Secret and Target, I’m starting to see the truth about skimping on fabric. My mantra is (98% of the time) more is more and more is better. Only when it comes to bathing suits, I’m starting to believe more fabric is better vs. more skin.

I adopted this logic when I went out on a whim and bought this Kenneth Cole Plunge Monokini. Still subtly sexy but leaves way more to the imagination, I knew I would never go back to a regular bikini (except to even out those wretched tan lines).

A few years later, I’m still lusting over this monokini trend. Here are some options I’m considering for this year (including the one I just purchased):

Just Bought: Very Sexy Push-Up Cut-Out One Piece, was $120 now $90

Must Have: Robin Piccone ‘Penelope’ Crochet Overlay One Piece Swimsuit, $130

Carmen Marc Valvo Retro One-Piece, $167

Vince Camuto ‘Wild Cheetah’ One Piece Swimsuit, $100

MICHAEL Michael Kors ‘Cascading Ruffle’ One Piece Bandeau Swimsuit, $168

Juicy Couture Miss Divine Halter One Piece, $164

One Piece. Bikini. Tankini. Monkini. What kind of “kini” do you wear?
-Lauren

3 Responses to “Suit Yourself”

  1. 1 Tara

    I NEED that crochet one-piece, but ugh, $130?!


Leave a Reply

