Last Dance with Mary Jane

13Feb12

The last time I considered Mary Janes a staple in my closet, I was in 4th grade. Clueless was on a constant loop in my VCR and I envied Cher Horowitz’s wardrobe more specifically, her Mary Janes. One of my best friends had two pairs I was constantly borrowing and clacking down Cross St. School’s hallways. I pretty much lived, breathed and died for those shoes.

Fast forward close to 2 decades later and I find myself drooling over the latest Mary Jane styles; I’m particularly fond of those with bright, color block patterns. Chunky, classic and a great option for transitioning into spring (or for those of us in the North East, still waiting for winter), you can’t go wrong with a great pair of Mary Janes.

Here are some of my favorite pairs broken out by style:

Color Block
I really hope this trend sticks around for years to come. I’m so in love with everything about it! Sharp, distinct lines, playful colors and tons of options. I wouldn’t mind adding these 3 pairs to my shoe rack.

Madeline Girl Tender Pump, $79.95

Rampage Mariska Pump, $39.95

Vince Camuto ‘Jasper’ Mary Jane Pump, $116.95

Wild Child
Aside from practical reasons, shoes are worn to make a statement! These Mary Janes kick up the flare factor and really bring your feet to life. I’m lusting over the Betsey Johnsons!

Betsey Johnson Poppie Pump, $109.95

Nine West ‘Aroundtown’ Mary Jane Pump, $98.95

The Classics
Every girl needs ’em. But classic doesn’t have to translate to plain. Here are two options in timeless colors, and textures.

ALDO ‘Flavell’ Pump, $99.95

Steve Madden ‘Viktoree’ Mary Jane Pump, $129.95

A League of Their Own
Gucci- enough said. Hey, a girl can dream right?

Gucci Chain Strap Mary Jane Sandal, $1195.00

How are you feeling about the Mary Jane revival? Bring it on or leave it with Cher and Dionne?
-Lauren

8 Responses to “Last Dance with Mary Jane”

  1. 1 Tara

    I’ve been a fan for years–you know my red pair!!! I rocked them the
    (in)famous chair dance night 😉

    Recently, I added a suede black pair too. I go with a lower heel than you, but nonetheless, I agree that Mary Janes are a must for every girl!

  2. I find that everything done by Cher and Dionne (and even…Amber) has eventually made its way back to the foreground of fashion. Just think: from Alaia boleros to purple clogs to the Calvin Klein Clueless dress (which I seriously thought about buying last year), that movie is like the Nostradamus of the fashion world! Now, can someone please bring back the matching yellow plaid blazer/pleated skirt look? 🙂

    I used to be all about the Mary Janes in 4th grade and middle school too. But from high school and beyond, I can’t do it unless it’s a T-strap shoe (love that Gucci!). The color block and suede trend is great, by the way. Very retro and yet fun (and looks perfect with black opaque tights)!

    • “You don’t understand this is an Alaia”
      “An a-what-a”
      “It’s like a totally important designer”

      I think I need to watch that movie tonight. And I could deal with a yellow plaid blazer and pleated skirt revival! ❤ Lauren

  3. 6 Lorraine

    I love Mary Janes!

  4. You picked some great shoes! I’m a blogger too, it would be nice if you could stop by my blog sometime 🙂 🙂

    http://www.raindropsofsapphire.com


  1. 1 Weak for Wedges « eyeblinkfashion

Leave a Reply

