Primal Instincts

27Feb12

Similar to the finding right shapewear or the perfect Victoria’s Secret push up bra, starting with the right building blocks of beauty is this girl’s prerogative. And it should be yours too! Good primers are hard to come by. When you find one that works for you, stick with it and pray to the beauty Gods it doesn’t get discontinued (RIP Neutrogina eye primer).

Over the last few years, I’ve built up the best (within my price range) array of primers for myself, all shea and cocoa butter free.

Face
NARS Pore Refining Primer, $32.00

NARS primer beats out the competition for many reasons: it’s oil free, refines the look of pores, mattifies skin, regulates shine (a key component in my book), and feels super light on your face. I don’t wear a ton of face make up because I despise the feel of it. This primer sets up a great canvas for my illuminator, bronzer and blush.

Eyes
Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion, $20.00

Saying goodbye to my Neutrogina eye primer was a sad day. For $12 that little jar packed a whole lot of magic, making any shadow last all day. The hunt was on for something just as amazing once it was discontinued. I came upon Urban Decay’s eye primer and never looked back. It’s slightly more expensive but lasts me months. I think I use a total of 2 tubes a year. Plus I adore all the color options. Use the original formula on it’s own for an invisible primer look or try Greed, Sin or Eden for a metallic look or highlight shadow alternative.

Nails
Seche Clear Crystal Clear Base Coat, $7.50

A good base coat not only protects your nails from discoloration but can lengthen the life of your polish. And who doesn’t want that? Painting my nails 3x a week out of necessity gets tiring. The salon I used to work at uses this base coat and I have nothing but good things to say about it- great protection, a longer lasting mani and available to the masses for a good price.

Hair
Tresemme Thermal Creations Heat Tamer Hair Spray, $4.99

If you’re like me and love using the curling iron, blow dryer, flat iron, triple barrel iron, curling wand or any other heat on your hair, you need to buy this product! My long locks are stronger and more shiny because I use a heat protector. I stick with this one because it doesn’t make my hair look wet or greasy like others do.

What are some of your favorite primers?
-Lauren

4 Responses to “Primal Instincts”

  1. Wow, the Nars primer sounds perfect, I am going to try that out as my Smashbox goop is running out! Here’s my list of favorite face/eye primers: http://iamthegsb.com/2011/10/11/primer-time/ – looks like your nostalgia for the Neutrogena primer is right on par with mine for Tarina Tarantino’s, haha.

    I am also a HUGE fan of the Tressemme heat styler spray. It’s cheap, amazing, and smells great! Some other great hair primers are Bumble & Bumble’s Prep, Chi Keratin Spray, and Moroccan Oil Light.


  1. 1 Get Excited… it’s Giveaway Time! « eyeblinkfashion
  2. 2 There’s Still Time… « eyeblinkfashion
  3. 3 Product Review: Make Up For Ever Powder Blush in Candy Pink 85 « eyeblinkfashion

Leave a Reply

