Product Review: Kat Von D Tattoo Liner

08Mar12

I am perpetually on the hunt for the perfect black eyeliner. I already own probably two dozen black eyeliners– crayons, markers, gels, liquids, kohl… you name it; I’ve tried it.

I wear black eyeliner EVERY day and so it’s obviously very crucial to me, and my makeup bag, that I have the perfect liner. I really LOVE my Makeup Forever Aqua Eyes black eyeliner, but I heard great things about Kat Von D’s new tattoo liner in Trooper (black ink), so I decided to test it out for myself. And I must say, I’m super happy that I added this liner to my repertoire.

Here’s how this eyeliner stacks up:
(one to five stars – one being lowest, five being highest)

Color: I love a dark, dark, dark matte black eyeliner. That being said, this one isn’t the blackest eyeliner I’ve ever had but I didn’t need a second swipe of liner either. 4 stars
Applicator: This eyeliner has the thinnest marker tip applicator I’ve ever seen on an eyeliner. It’s literally like the point of a needle – perfect for lining under your lower lash line or for doing an awesome cat eye. And it’s not flimsy at all, which is great for applying the perfect line. For beginners though, I think the thin tip might be a problem because it takes some skill to use. 4.5 stars
Staying Power: This is definitely where this eyeliner shines. I have super oily skin (as if you didn’t know that by now!) and I didn’t use any primer the first time I tried this eyeliner. It stayed put and stayed dark all day, and through happy hour. My eye makeup looked exactly the same when I got home from work. 5 stars
Price: For $18, it’s very similar in price to other eyeliners at Sephora. I think the precision tip of this liquid liner makes it well worth the price (you will not fine a thin tip like this in the makeup aisle). The only thing I worry about is the eyeliner drying out, since I heard mixed reviews on that topic. Unfortunately, I’ve only had it for a week now so I can’t attest to that. 4 stars.

Final Score: 4.5 stars

What’s your favorite black eyeliner?

– Cher

One Response to “Product Review: Kat Von D Tattoo Liner”


  1. 1 EBF Beauty Awards: Eyes « eyeblinkfashion

Leave a Reply

