It’s My Party and I’ll Wear What I Want To

12Mar12

One of my most favorite things about my birthday is the dress. A new birthday dress is tradition in mine and Cher’s group of friends- be it frugal or frivalous. Sometimes splurging on a magnificent frock is a must. It ups your birthday spirit and replaces the need to celebrate your birthday for one week instead of one day (yes, I did this from 17 to about 22). But if you go the splurge route, pick a dress to debut on your special day with other occassions in mind so it’s not a complete waste (i.e. New Year’s Eve or weddings).

Here are my birthday dress picks, hope you eye something to rock on your special day in 2012!

Classic Black
Splurge
Calvin Klein One Shoulder Dress, was $168, now $118

Steal
Matelasse Bodycon Dress, $24.80

Show Stopper
Splurge
BGBCMAXAZRIA SEQUINED STRAPLESS COCKTAIL DRESS, $468

Steal
nicole by Nicole Miller Sequin Dress w/ Tie Belt, $30

Colorful
Splurge
Gryphon ‘Dip Dye’ Silk Dress, $365

Steal
COLOR BLOCK PONTE KNIT DRESS, was $88, now $62

Printed
Splurge
Parker Faux Wrap Silk Georgette Dress, $242
(our friend Robin wore a sleeveless version of this dress out to celebrate Cher’s birthday!)

Steal
Bisou Bisou One Shoulder Dress-Floral Print, $40

Boho
Splurge
Free People Pointed Cape Dress, $188

Steal
Sheer Peasant Dress, $24.80

Glam
Splurge
French Connection ‘Ribbon Knits’ Banded Dress, $188

Steal
Contrast Trim Peplum Dress, $17.80

Which party dress is your fave?
-Lauren

4 Responses to “It’s My Party and I’ll Wear What I Want To”

  1. 1 Lori

    I love the Ribbon Knits dress!

  2. Such great picks! I love anything Matelasse – it’s one of the most flattering textures I’ve ever come across. The Bisou Bisou dress is adorable and I am a huge sucker for anything Gryphon (I’ve been seeing their dip dye trenches all over the past-season retail market and can’t decide if it’s worth it to buy a 5th trench coat, haha). The FCUK dress is gorgeous but I tried on a couple of their “ribbons” items (a bandage pencil skirt and a dress, to be exact) and even though my hips are on the slim side, it was hard to walk in both). I think BCBG wins it for me — it looks like a sparkler candle atop a delicate birthday cake! 🙂

  3. 4 Robin

    Aw thanks for the shout out 🙂


Leave a Reply

